Delhi Assembly Elections: AAP Announces List Of All 70 Candidates For 8 February Polls, Drops 15 Sitting MLAs

IANSWednesday, January 15, 2020 9:48 am IST
Delhi CM and AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal (Representative Image) (Pradeep Gaur/Mint via Getty Images)
Delhi CM and AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal (Representative Image) (Pradeep Gaur/Mint via Getty Images)

The Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday (14 January) announced the list of all 70 candidates for the February 8 Delhi Assembly elections, with Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal contesting again from New Delhi seat and his deputy Manish Sisodia again in the fray from Patparganj.

The party has dropped 15 of its sitting MLAs and added 24 new faces in total, including unsuccessful 2019 Lok Sabha candidates Atishi, Dilip Pandey and Raghav Chadha.

All the ministers, including Sisodia, are also re-contesting from their respective seats as well as Assembly Speaker Ram Niwas Goyal (Shahdara) and Deputy Speaker Rakhi Birla (Mangol Puri).

Eight women candidates have been given the opportunity in the list released by the AAP's Political Affairs Committee.

The notification of the 8 February Assembly elections was released on Tuesday (14 January) and the nomination process has also started. The BJP and Congress are yet to reveal their cards.

Several newly-joined party members have also been given ticket.

The party has dropped the sitting MLAs after they were not found up to the mark, after a survey. It has also conducted the survey of the new names, according to a party leader.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

Get Swarajya in your inbox.


Swarajya Magazine Cover Image