DU Elections: ABVP Bags 3 Top Posts Including President While NSUI Gets 1; AAP’s CYSS Boycotted The Elections

Swarajya Staff Friday, September 13, 2019 1:17 pm IST
ABVP members at a rally.
ABVP members at a rally.

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) won three of top four positions in Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections while Congress’s NSUI could only take the post of secretary, reported The New Indian Express.

In the results that came out today (13 September), Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) backed ABVP’s Akshit Dahiya emerged as the new president defeating National Students Union of India’s Chetna Tyagi by a margin of over 19,000 votes.

While Pradeep Tanwar and Shivangi Kharwal of ABVP won the posts of vice president and joint secretary respectively Ashish Lamba managed to bag secretary’s post for NSUI.

ABVP managed to save the posts won by it in last year’s polls giving no chance of recovery to the Congress backed student body. The student wing of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS) had boycotted the elections as its demand of conducting the polls with ballot paper was turned down.

The voter turnout, however, this year was lower than that of last year’s. It was recorded at 39.90 per cent for the elections held on Thursday, which was about four percentage points lesser than 44.46 of last year.

Sixteen candidates, including four women, had contested in the elections decided by over 1.3 lakh eligible students. Along with the university polls, various colleges affiliated to the institution also choose their student unions.

High security arrangements were made for the student body polls as several incidents of violence and clashes amongst the student groups had been witnessed in past.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.


Swarajya Magazine Cover Image