News Brief

Election Commission Recognises EPS As AIADMK General Secretary And Grants Two-Leaves Symbol For Karnataka Assembly Polls; OPS Also Puts Up Candidates

  • The clash between the AIADMK factions has spread to Karnataka with both the EPS and OPS factions putting up their candidates in constituencies having a sizeable Tamil population.
  • The EC's recognition comes while the Madras High Court is hearing a petition by the OPS faction against the General Council resolutions passed in July 2022.
  • The move has also raised fresh questions about the AIADMK's alliance with the BJP in Tamil Nadu.
  • S RajeshThursday, April 20, 2023 11:18 am IST
    OPS and EPS
    OPS and EPS

    The Election Commission of India (ECI) has recognised Edappadi Palaniswami (EPS) as the General Secretary of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and allotted the two-leaves symbol to the party's candidate in Bengaluru's Pulakeshinagar (SC) constituency for the Karnataka Assembly elections.

    Pulakeshinagar has a sizeable population of Tamils and Muslims. It was won by R Akhanda Srinivas Murthy of the Congress in the 2018 elections. He resigned after not being given the Congress ticket to contest the seat this time.

    The recognition is however subject to further court orders, said the ECI.

    The announcement by the AIADMK to put up its Karnataka state presidium chairman D Anbarasan as its candidate in the Pulakeshinagar seat comes amidst the ongoing tussle with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Tamil Nadu.

    This is not the first time that the AIADMK is contesting polls in Karnataka. It has won the Kolar Gold Fields constituency thrice (1983, 1989 and 1999) and the Gandhinagar constituency once (1994).

    In 2018, it contested three seats, i.e., Hanur, Gandhinagar and Kolar Gold Fields. In 1999, it contested 13 seats.

    Meanwhile, O Panneerselvam (OPS) has announced his candidates in three seats, i.e., Pulakeshinagar, Gandhinagar and Kolar Golf Fields.

    Also Read: Karnataka: Congress MLA Akhanda Srinivas Murthy, Whose Home Was Burnt By Muslim Mobs During Deadly Bengaluru Riots, Quits Assembly After Denied Ticket

    Get Swarajya in your inbox.


    Swarajya Magazine Cover Image